HAPPY WISH DAY!

After months and months (okay…years and years…) of writing and waiting and writing and waiting, pretty little WISH is finally, officially in stores today!

I have to admit, today doesn’t feel different than any other day (except for all of the very lovely messages, tweets and phone calls, thanks guys!) which I was warned would be the case.  BUT.  After an amazing weekend in the city, celebrating and reading and seeing lots of family and friends, I can safely say  that I am almost* all partied out.

PARTY PICS!

First up was Teen Author Reading Night at the Jefferson Market Library on 6th Avenue, hosted by David Levithan, and featuring new works by some really great (and lovely) YA authors.  It was my very first reading so I was super-nervous, but luckily I sat next to Robin Palmer, who is hilarious.  It’s hard to be scared when the author next to you is inventing Romance novel titles (my favorite:  Deceived By Deceit) and channeling Jackie Collins.   So thanks, Robin. I may not have made it without you.

And the very next night, I celebrated the release of WISH with all of the wonderful people who have been there from the beginning. My mom and brothers were there:  

And LOOK! It’s the real CALLA!  My friend, Callie, whose real name I borrowed for one of the characters in WISH, won the Best Dress Contest:

Callie shared Best Dress honors with Courtney, who, on top of being adorable, served as the world’s best and most supportive sounding board as I spent the last three years hemming and hawing over all things WISH:

And here we have my brother John, taking a break from the festivities to catch up on some reading:


(Once he got over the fact that the cover model was actually not going to be in attendance, I think he had a pretty  good time.)

Thanks to all who came out, especially the ladies at Alloy and Scholastic.  It was a total girlfest and so much fun. I couldn’t have asked for a better way to welcome WISH into the world.

BLOG TOUR!

I’ll be traveling the blogosphere for the next few weeks, guest posting and being interviewed all over the place!  I’ll try to keep updating here and on Twitter, but I have a feeling you’ll be getting enough of me everywhere else.  At the end of each post will be a link to where I’ll be the next day.  It’s going to be a lot of fun so I hope you’ll check in.

(Man, I love tours that I can do in my pajamas.)

Today’s stop on the tour is at Alea’s Pop Culture Junkie, where I re-live the awkwardness of being taller than every boy in school, and give you a sneak peek at the WISH playlist.

A very special thanks to all of you bloggers, it’s been so much fun getting to know you and I’m so appreciative for all that you do for YA authors everywhere, especially those of us who are new to the game!

And, of course, thanks to YOU for stopping by!

xoxo

akb

*I say almost because the party continues this weekend…Stay tuned for more news about ALA and WISH in Boston!

