This is the sound I imagine accompanying my return to blogland. It has been too long.  And I am beyond disoriented from traveling and sleeping at odd hours of the day, being carted around in various vehicles and landing, finally, in my homeawayfromhome, NYC, for some days of meetings and fun.

Vacation was fabulous and relaxing and lovely.  If ONLY I had any idea where that little cord thing that uploads the pictures was, I could prove it to you.  But for now I guess you’ll have to take my word for it. Nicaragua is beautiful and sunny, and despite a near run-in with a Tsunami, nothing but fun was had by all.

Back in the real world, I have lots of exciting news to share!

Exciting News Part One:

WISH is on IndieBound’s Kid’s Indie Next List for Spring of 2010!  There are some really incredible titles on this list and I can’t tell you how thrilled I am to be included.  Hooray!

Exciting News Part Two:

Guess what’s only a few weeks away?  The Annual NYC Teen Author Festival!!!  David Levithan has done an incredible job of organizing a fantastic line-up of authors, panels and signings, and it’s all happening in this here city from March 15th – 21st.

You can find the full schedule on facebook here.  I’ll be bopping around trying to catch as much as I can, but if you want to be sure to say hello stop by one of the following events:

Friday, 3/19 (South Court, 42nd Street, 2-5 and 6-8:30)

NYC Teen Author Festival Symposium

There’s an amazing afternoon planned chock full o’ panels and discussions.  At 3:30, I’ll be joining some stellar authors to talk about Grief, Loss, and the YA Novel.

Here’s the line-up:
Alexandra Bullen
Heather Duffy-Stone
Donna Freitas
Alice Hoffman
Sarah Darer Littman
Lisa Ann Sandell
Samantha Schutz

Stellar, yes?

The fun continues on Saturday, March 20th with the Stuff for the Teen Age Event (Bartos Forum, 42nd Street, 1pm):

From David:

“Come check out Stuff for the Teen Age, The New York Public Library’s list of the hottest books, movies, music, and video games from 2009. Talk with your favorite authors. Rock out to your favorite songs. Have fun. Hear a very special presentation from keynote speaker, Libba Bray, the author of Going Bovine.”

And then on Sunday, March 21st, don’t miss the BIGGEST SIGNING THERE EVER WAS! at Books of Wonder, only the greatest children’s bookstore in the universe.

The signings will be from 2 pm –  6 pm.  I’ll be hanging out all day, but officially signing from 2:00 – 2:45 with…

Alma Alexander
Nora Baskin
Cathleen Davitt Bell
Judy Blundell
Libba Bray
Coe Booth
Elise Broach
Nick Burd
Sarah Burningham
Susane Colasanti
Matt De La Pena
Violet Haberdasher
Maggie Stiefvater

Superstellar, yes?

Needless to say, I am excited.  (See how I did that?  Said it even though I didn’t need to?  That’s how excited I am.)

And I hope to see you all there.

xx

akb

