One of the things I miss most about living in the city is riding the subway. Not for the convenience or the cozy snuggles with strangers, but for all of the time it afforded me to read. This series of photos of subway readers made me all kinds of nostalgic. 

I did very little subway reading this past trip, mostly because I had a hard time getting on the subway in the first place.  An hour before I was set to take the R train from Brooklyn into Manhattan, there was a massive water main explosion directly in front of my publisher’s building, where I was supposed to be meeting all of the lovely editors and other behind-the-scenes magicians who are working so hard to bring my next book to life.

Image

That’s Broadway and Fifth avenue completely shut down, due the gaping hole in the middle of the frame. I took this shot from the windows of the FSG conference room, which may have been the most impressive conference room I’ve ever seen. It is very conference-y and probably has one of those cool Star Trek phones, but what’s most awesome is that it sits wedged in the point of a NYC landmark, the Flatiron Building. Very, very cool. 

I’m not saying that it’s my fault, exactly, that there was a semi-natural disaster happening live outside the very place where my book about the end-of-the-world was being celebrated and discussed, but, given the fact that a freakish wind-storm delayed our trip off-island by four hours the day before, and given the fact that I am now back home, checking flashlights and buying provisions as we anticipate the blizzard to end all blizzards, I am starting to feel like I may be cursed in the disaster-department.

Who do I see about taking back all of that asteroid stuff? 

