Hello, hello!

I can’t believe I haven’t been back here yet to say how much fun I had at BEA! It was a total blast. I got to hang out with the awesome Macmillan/FSG crew for a few days, go to a bunch of fun events, and meet some really amazing people. Including…one of my very favorite authors as a kid, R.L. Stine!

IMG_2610

That’s us at the Macmillan booksellers’ luncheon. I think if I had smiled any bigger, my face would have gotten stuck. He was the absolute greatest. One of the highlights of that day came when we shared a cab and the driver overheard us talking. He giddily announced he was a huge Goosebumps fan, and Mr. Stine (I was supposed to call him “Bob” but I just couldn’t…) obliged him with an autograph. It was amazing.

Another trip highlight was most definitely my official BEA signing. I can’t tell you how incredible it was to see so many people lined up with their ARCs of Tumble & Fall. Here I am probably trying to come up with something witty to write:

BLilvOfCcAEhUV-

I had the best time chatting with all of you who turned up. I’m still pretty new to the whole signing-books thing, and everyone was so nice and patient. I started a little game of asking people what THEY would do, if they knew they had only five days left to live, and got the most amazing answers. One girl said she would get right on a plane and go to Finland, because she’d always wanted to go there. It was such a quick and specific answer, I was so impressed. Another girl said she would eat at every restaurant she could in NYC and charge it to her credit card. (I told her I’d happily come along.)

I’m so grateful to all of you who came to say hello, and to all of you reading advanced copies of the book and sharing your reactions on Twitter and your blogs. It makes it all feel so much more real, as I’m counting down the days. I can’t wait until September!!!

xoxo

abc

