Well, they’re not all going to be big weeks.

I don’t know if it was all of the visitors we’ve been having, or the fact that Evie got some weird mystery illness (on top of the four enormous molars she’s been pushing through for weeks) or just a to-be-expected mid-challenge slump, but not a whole lot has happened around here since last I checked in.

Which is not to say the week was a total bust. We DID have our first official date night last night (though the pictures we took are too dark and terrible for posting.) We had a late dinner at a restaurant we love called The Red Cat in Oak Bluffs, and then went to hear Maceo Parker, funk master and showman extraordinaire, play at Flatbreads. The show was incredible. Maceo Parker plays saxophone and was in James Brown’s band, and later played with everyone from Prince to De La Soul to Dave Matthews. He is such an incredible performer. I definitely recommend checking him out if you get the chance!

But the highlight of the night had to be when one of his backup singers came out to do a hilarious, growly rendition of one of my very favorites, Stand By Me. (“If the sky that we look upon should tumble and fall…” Sound familiar?) I found a video from a festival they played in France a few weeks ago, if you’d like to take a look. I especially love at the end when she sings to Maceo and he looks one part thrilled, one part terrified.

In skateboarding news, I managed to go a full week without so much a setting foot on a board. But camp was busy! I can’t tell you how much I love watching these kids grow over the course of a week, not just in skills but also in confidence and in their relationships with the counselors and other campers. It’s just the best. And Evie can’t get enough. Her favorite part of the day is definitely morning stretches, when she walks around the circle, climbing all over everyone’s legs and getting right in their faces to ask for high-fives.

Image

Finally, I think by way of inspiration, Eliot showed me a skate video this morning that totally blew my mind. Skip ahead to the 6:30 minute mark if you’re short on time and want to get to the face-melting, stat. (Hint: there’s a helicopter involved.) What is wrong with this dude? And also, I love him.

That’s it for this week! Hope you all were a little bit more productive with your goals. I’ve got big plans for next week. Stay tuned!

xoxo

abc

