Hi friends!

First things first: TUMBLE & FALL is out next week! It seems insane that after all of this waiting and tweeting and talking about that far-away day in September, we are now less than a week away from pub day. I’m getting so anxious and excited (and anxious) to share this book-baby with all of you, and even more anxious and excited (and anxious) to head out on tour soon after!

If you’d like, you can still pre-order the book on Powell’s. And don’t forget to ask for it at your local bookstore!

Now, on to Challenge business. Some exciting news! The good people at Macmillan/FSG have picked up the Challenge torch by starting a contest on Twitter! All you have to do is send out a quick tweet, telling us what’s on YOUR challenge list, add the #tumbleandfall hashtag, and you’ll be automatically entered to win a whole bunch of great prizes. More details here. 

As for my Challenge progress…I’ve decided I’m going to give myself a little wiggle-room on one particular challenge, and consider it met, although, technically speaking, it’s still a work-in-progress. This would be Challenge #6: Teach Evie To Swim.

Since this little gal is not even a year and a half, I realized my goal of teaching her to “swim” may have been a bit ambitious. Instead, we’re going to pretend I wanted to “get Evie comfortable in the ocean.”

IMG_3009

 

IMG_3008

 

IMG_3007

 

Mission Accomplished!

There was a period of a few weeks where I was worried that my island baby might be terrified of the water, but it turned out she just doesn’t like being “held” in the water. She likes walking, splashing, and even being tossed around in the waves, but try and gently bounce her in calm, waist-deep ocean and you will feel her wrath. She’s all about the action, I guess. Which is why water-play quickly became a Dad activity. (I much prefer the stationary, wading version of “swimming in the ocean,” myself.)

These two are a pretty amazing seaside pair. And it must be said that while Evie tolerates playing in the water, playing in the sand is really where she shines.

IMG_2950

 

 

These quick glimpses of summer were just what the doctor ordered on a dreary Friday (the 13th!) Here’s hoping the sun comes out this weekend, wherever you are.

xoxo

abc

